Milk and Cookies Reprise

Some of you may have seen this before; I posted it waaay back when I didn’t really know anybody on MySpace.  Today I was scrubbing the kitchen floor and thought I’d call my Mom when I was done and ask what she’d recommend for dinner–she always had great ideas for something yummy that didn’t require a full orchestra.  Then I remembered.  She’s not on the other end of the phone any more.  The only thing that kept me from keening was that I didn’t want to frighten my son in the next room.  I finished mopping the floor, mopped my face, and decided to share this again with you.  It’s not the same, of course.  But it’s still love.

You’d have liked my Mom.

Mom

My mother is a pioneer and a survivor—she did, after all, make it through the 60’s.  She’s been on the cutting edge of social change most of her life, and been places and done things that women today can, thanks to her bra-burning generation, pretty much take for granted.  And she hasn’t slowed down at all, either.  These days, though she’s the archetypal sweet little old lady—at least to look at her—she actively advocates for gay rights, animal rights, human rights in general, the environment, she volunteers at the local library, and still finds time to walk out into her garden to appreciate the periwinkles, which she advocates as just as serious a part of life as anything else.  She’s read and commented on every bit of literature there is to read and comment on, including Hesse, Kerouac, Kazantzakis, Steinbeck, Shakespeare, Nietzsche (a bit of a trial, to be sure), Marx, Freud, Jung, Tolkien, Adams (as in Doug), Camus, Dostoyevsky, and all the rest from classical to modern times, as well as a truly staggering number of mystery authors.  She’s an amateur expert on regional Native American culture, a well-rounded appreciator of art from all walks, as well as a rather gifted artist in her own right, and she has traveled all over the world.  She speaks Italian fluently, having lived in Italy as a girl, and is something of an expert on the behavior and size of cockroaches in the tropics as the result of an incident involving an egg salad sandwich when she was living in the Philippines in the 50’s.  She can even play the accordion!  She has adopted or dispensed with social convention on her own advice as a matter of general practice for decades.  She is a Master of The Discerning Observation, and can speak with authority on just about any social topic on the board today.

Nonetheless, it is still possible to catch her by surprise.

For example, she went to the “hair benders” the other day for a haircut.  Bear in mind that as I said, my mother is the archetypal sweet little old lady—white hair, apple cheeks, twinkle in her eyes and goodies in the cupboard for the kids and grandkids—the whole nine yards.  There she is, sitting in a room full of women of various ages who are seriously engaged in attending to the full feminine arsenal of attraction.  The woman cutting her hair managed to talk my mother into having her eyebrows waxed.  It was kind of fun and nice at first, having her face tinkered with and the warm wax and all.  And then:

RRRIIIPPP!!

My mother howled. She said she thought she was going to die.  And she was faced with having to have the other eyebrow treated the same way or be lopsided.  The other women in the room, mistaking my mother for a sweet little old lady, smirked knowingly.

That is until my mother, in stentorian tones of moral outrage that could have come straight from the Goddess Herself, gave voice to the Question of the Ages:

“PEOPLE DO THIS TO THEIR TWATS!!??”


Harley Mom

3:50 PM  2 Comments  3 Kudos

This entry was posted in Humor, Life, Life The Universe and Everything and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Milk and Cookies Reprise

  1. Thea says:

    ROBERTOelDRAGÓN&IDYs!:

    SHOULD I BE SURPRISED w THE WONDERS OF YOUR, MOM, SWEET ONE; HAVING KNOWN YOU? BUT, I KNOW THAT EXACT AND KINDA SHITTY FEELING! A REAL REALITY PUNCH!
    AND, WHAT’S A “TWAT”? DO I HAVE ONE? AND, IF YES, SHOULD, I ALSO, I AM ASSUMING THIS IS THE PROCEDURE, BE TIPPING BURNING CANDLES, ON IT? AND, MY EYEBROWS, TOO? WHAT OTHER HIRSUTE AREAS NEED SUCH A WITCH’S MISCHIEF

    Question mark

    “WHEN, YOU PASS, FLOWERS SHRINK; TO AVOID THE COMPARISON!” IDY! TOMMY GEE (RtD) >=~:

    WILL I GET A BLACK BELT OR A RED SKIN PATCH?

    Posted by ROBERTOelDRAGÓN&IDYs! on October 23, 2010 – Saturday – 9:18 PM

  2. TOMMY GEE says:

    …^
    I WAS TOO “HUMOROUS” THEEE! BUT! AS FAR AS YOUR BEING YOUR MOM’S DAUGHTER… HMMM… I WAS TOO FAR OFF; AGAIN! YOU -ARE- THAT, AND MORE! YOU SPARKLE, w THE EASE OF EVERY STAR, AND LIGHT MY, AND SO MANY, OTHER, JAW-DROPPED, PEOPLE’S PATHS; TO A -FAR- BETTER PLACE OR CONTINUUM, OF SUCH GLORIOUS DESTINATIONS!
    YOU ARE YOU, AND SHE WAS SHE, AS IT SHOULD BE! AND, I HAVE -NO- WANT, TO DIMINISH -ALL- THAT YOUR MOM WAS! IT’S, JUST, THAT, SO WONDERFULLY TRUE, TO MY CONCEPTION OF “COSMIC LOGIC” AND THE “PROPER” WAY, OF THINGS; BEING HER ISSUE; YOU -SHOULD- BE COMPOSED, OF VERY MANY OF HER BEST ATTRIBUTES, AS YOU ARE! BUT, SINCE, YOUR FATHER AND THE COUNTLESS INFLUENCES, ALSO, “CREATED” “THEA”, MY DEAREST AND SO FASCINATING, THEA; AND, SINCE, SHE REARED YOU; SO DEFTLY AND LOVINGLY AND AWAKENED YOUR BEST MAGICS; THERE SHOULD BE AND ARE, UNIQUE AND MIRACLE-MAKING, QUALITIES, n YOU THAT, BETIMES, MAKE GALAXIES BRIGHTER, THAN -EVER – b4!
    ID&LY, THEE! AND, EVEN, RIGHT NOW, YOUR MOM KNOWS; -BEST- THE REASONS, WHY I (w HER AND -SO MANY!) DO…
    THANK YOU, BEAUTIFUL LADY!
    TOMMY *BLESSED w YOUR AMAZING FRIENDSHIP!*

    • Thea says:

      Although naturally I am uncomfortable with such glowing praise, I also recognize the validity–and urgent necessity!–of the exuberant, joyful and unconfined sense of aesthetics combined with ethics in you from which it stems. That you should say it out loud, moreover, takes significant courage (or chutzpah!). I know you’ve been beat up for doing so before. Therefore, Tommy, I thank you most humbly for your perception, which contributes no less to the sparkle you mention than I do myself.

      The “proper priority of beauty, passion, and reasoned emotion” indeed.

      xx
      ~Thea

  3. Piracetam says:

    These comments appall me and they’re not even directed at “my type” (presumed-to-be-regretful feminist who farms out her babies while heading to the office). It’s a level of nastiness that’s completely unwarranted, an expression of outrage at the fact that some women are not sufficiently diminished or broken by motherhood. So having children isn’t enough to put the privileged woman in her place. Well, why should it be? And why would that be fair? Social justice is not achieved by ensuring that motherhood pushes all women a few notches down the social scale.

    • Thea says:

      I read this and I have to confess I have trouble figuring out how the other comments factor in to what you said. Taking a stab at what you’re actually talking about, if it bothers you to have others caring for your children while you engage in other pursuits, then my recommendation is that you don’t do it. That’s simple enough, isn’t it? I personally do not feel it is inappropriate to have someone else (qualified to) raise your child if you can afford it while you work at your career or whathaveyou. Doing so does not obviate your love for your child. Direct parenthood is not for everyone, but fortunately there is always more than one way to skin a cat.

      This blog is not intended as a social commentary on the “evils of feminism,” it’s just meant to tell a story about something funny my mom said. If you would like to discuss the role of women in the general social milieu, then certainly I’m your huckleberry–but I don’t cater to people who are defensive to the point of imagining an attack where there was none, and who then lash out instead of engaging in honest discussion.

Leave a Reply

